Slide background
The official "Port of Rome" tourism website
Slide background
Multilingual website
Translated on the fly in 89 languages
Slide background
Open navigation
free downloadable guides
Slide background
Starting point for....
3.5 million cruise passengers
30 million tourists
Slide background
Discover monuments, buildings, squares
Shopping and lifestyle in Port of Rome and Rome
Slide background
Full information about transports, tourism services and tours in Rome from civitavecchia
Slide background
The best car rental with driver in Civitavecchia and Rome

Guaranteed tour operators in Civitavecchia and Rome

Slide background
Experience the best restaurants and hotels
Slide background
Enjoy the most popular beauty salons and hairdressers
Slide background
All news, events and special Jubilee
allumiere pane giallo e prodotti tipici



Located about 10 Km from Allumiere along the road known as “Farnesiana” that connects the village with the main road Aurelia (SS1), between Civitavecchia and Tarquinia.

The first Church of Farnesiana originates since the period of the Olgiati such contractors undertaking alum and is located in the small village near the present semi ruined church. The Olgiati in 1591 they built a mill in this area that worked thanks to diverting the course of the stream Campaccio and that it was necessary for the sustenance of the miners who worked in the mines. Were later added a small church and a small village that housed some religious from the church of Jesus in Rome, the “Farnese” that, in addition to religious duties, had the task of managing the mill.

Chaplains farnesiani Allumiere left in 1754 and all their properties were purchased by the Apostolic Camera who founded a company for the breeding of livestock and grain production.

Around the end of the seventeenth century some of the water that fed the mill was channeled to Civitavecchia for which the small village of Farnese lost a bit ‘of its importance. But the production of alum was now in crisis and, in 1836, the entire estate was sold to the Sacro Monte di Pieta of Rome who built a larger church to which he gave the name of “Santa Maria della Farnesina”. In 1860 the building was expanded with the construction of the side porches that were later closed.

After the proclamation of the Italian State all property of the estate passed into the hands of the Farnese Cassa, who scaled the farm and the power of the Church.

In 1877 the entire company was purchased by the Marquis Guglielmi, Civitavecchia, which restored the farm and the church dedicated to the Immaculate Conception.

Currently the church and the village are in a state of disrepair.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

ristoranti carne civitavecchia civitavecchia meat restaurants ristoranti pesce civitavecchia civitavecchia seafood restaurants tour operator civitavecchia civitavecchia tour operators civitavecchia restaurants transfer from civitavecchia to rome airports transfer service civitavecchia rome transfer civitavecchia roma servizi turistici civitavecchia transfer civitavecchia aereoporti di roma servizi per turisti civitavecchia ristoranti civitavecchia trasporto turisti civitavecchia